Halloween Countdown: Day Seven – Ahhhhh! Real Monsters

From: October 8, 2011

I’ve waited forever for this show to come out on DVD, and the timing for it’s release was perfect. Ickis, Oblena, and Krum are just as cool as I always remembered.

Aaahh!!! Real Monsters

Aaahh!!! Real Monsters (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes, there are a little cheesier, and a little less creepy than they seemed when I was a kid, but that’s okay. Seeing this show used to be a special treat for me because we never had a satellite or cable when I was growing up. I only got to see my favorite monsters when I would spend the night with my best friend Brittany, or if I got an issue of Nickelodeon magazine. So, having a DVD now is pretty awesome. My favorite thing about this release is that Nick didn’t go back and clean up the animation. They left everything as it was, which just adds to the nostalgia. This is serious 90’s quality cartooning. Actual drawings, and thick, heavy colors.

I had to bust out my screaming Oblena toy to commemorate the occasion.

Leave a comment